August 6, 2016: Pipe Organ Concert at Holy Rosary Parish (Event Gallery)

A happy crowd gathered at Holy Rosary Parish Saturday evening for a free concert "featuring internationally acclaimed composer-organist Alejandro Consolacion II with the special participation of Holy Rosary Parish Chamber Singers, Holy Angel University Chorale, and Divine Majesty Male Choir." The audience was invited to come and discover the elegance, beauty and power of the pipe organ, a musical instrument "Ever Ancient, Ever New."

The photos here were taken from a great distance, on a phone, at maximum zoom; please forgive the low quality.

Incidentally, we were lucky enough to sit with our friend Lucio Sison, who gave us some historical background on the church edifice.

(Click any image to enlarge)

First up: Divine Majesty Male Choir:
  • Ave Maris Stella (AJ Consolacion)
  • Nais Ko (R. Cayabyab/A. De Pano)
Speakers: Opening Remarks / Rationale of the Concert / Introduction of the Featured Performer

Next: Organist Alejandro Consolacion II:
(From where we sat, the organist could not be seen. His hands were on the monitors, however! And we photographed the organ console later.)
  • Prelude (Jacques-Nicolas Lemmens)
  • Concerto in D minor after A. Marcello BWV 974 (J. S. Bach)
  • Las Pinas Orgelbuchlein (Guy Bovet) Includes "Purihin and Panginoon," "Pagaalay ng Puso," "Kahanga-hanga Buhy Pagmamahal," "Isang Pananampalataya," and "Pananagutan."
  • Fanfare (Jacques-Nicolas Lemmens)

Then: Holy Rosary Parish Chamber Singers
  • Holy Mother of Our Savior (Accompanied by Sir AJ)
  • Gandang Sinuana at Sariwa (M. Francisco, SJ)

Next: "Guest Performers" Holy Angel University Chorale"
  • I Will Sing Forever (M. Francisco, SJ / arr. C. Borela)
  • Ave Maria (N. Pablico)
  • Circle of Life (Elton John / Fidel Calalang)

Finally, some members of the previous choirs joined the HAU Chorale for a Tutti Performance:
  • Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring (J. S. Bach)
  • Panis Angelicus (Cesar Franck)
  • Joyful, Joyful (misattributed in the program to J. S. Bach; it is, of course, by Beethoven)

Created August 7, 2016

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Comments are moderated. Please be patient--it might take a day or two!